Don’t know what to write? Try a contest.

Not all of us lead daring and dashing lives. It’s easy to look at Indiana Jones and feel as if there are dozens of wondrous stories that could be told about his various exploits. Me? I work in an office, at a desk, in front of a computer. Where am I supposed to get my ideas?

There are lots of writing contests out there, sure, but do they give you a head start? Probably not. So while the motivation is there to get your creative juices flowing, you still need that seed of an idea. Which is why a contest with a trigger is so great.

Recently, I entered a writing contest with a two word trigger. Just two words and I was off and writing. I am very proud and excited about my story and I hope that someday it sees the published light of day.

Meanwhile, I thought I’d suggest that if you’re looking for ideas, try to find a trigger, follow their rules, and write the best story you can.

Here’s one to get you started: Deadline Aug 15.
http://redstonesciencefiction.com/identity-crisis-contest/

About dustinadams

I write the wrongs.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

